The Wedding Veil

My latest project is a book about a wedding veil bought in the 1920’s and worn by over 20 brides. Each couple’s initials and wedding date are embroidered into the veil. I was fortunate enough to be able to photograph the veil and take closeup detail shots of each one.

Now we are collecting all of the brides photographs wearing the veil. However, there was one bride who was married in 1947 that no one seemed to be able to identify. With only the date and initials to go by I set out to see if I could solve the mystery for my client. I am happy to announce that the “mystery bride” has been solved. I was able to track down the wedding announcement in the New York Times, which is no easy feat since most searches require a name.

Above is a photo of 3 generations of extraordinary women that wore both the veil and the wedding dress.

We are off to a good start. I can’t wait to continue on!

~ by heritagebooks on February 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
