Letter Design

Mabel-1

Just finished designing this layout. I took the old letter below, removed the original words in photoshop and used it in my design. The original letter is part of my family history. We found documents that had Hungarian seals on them. I always thought that side of the family was from Austria. But this 4 page letter I am told is written in Windish. Windish? What’s Windish? I had never heard the word Windish before. I am told that it is an area located in what today is currently Slovenia, and what was formerly mostly the region of Carniola in the former Kingdom of Austria. The letter is from my great grandfather Janos Brodnyan’s sister telling him that there was a fire and that they lost everything. If anyone out there knows how to translate the Windish language please contact me at suzannecreates@comcast.net.

Letter-2a

~ by heritagebooks on September 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
